Body Image

Hey everyone, today’s post is going to be a little more personal and serious. I really wanted to talk about body image because I know how many women it affects all the time. I have had my personal struggle with body image, which I’m going to share a little of my story with you.

Growing up kids don’t notice if you’re gaining weight or if your weight is “above average”, but as I got older the way my body was viewed was changing more and more. As I became a teenager I realized that the “skinny” girls were always who the boys went after and I wasn’t one of them. I wouldn’t say that I was “fat” (which by the way is such a stupid word) but I also wasn’t considered skinny. I struggled for a long time with the way I looked and how I viewed my body. I want to stress how important it is that you love yourself the way you are, and that no one’s opinion of you should affect your opinion of yourself. It absolutely doesn’t matter what others think about the way you look.

Something that seriously affected the way I saw myself was when my ex-boyfriend told me that I should “focus more on my weight” because he said that I had gained a lot of weight. That is one thing that I let get to me so much. Who is he to tell me that I am “fat” or that I need to focus on my weight?! Who is anyone to tell you that? As human beings we are all different and we are all BEAUTIFUL in our own way! Why do we always have to find the bad in everyone? We should look at the beauty in people instead of nitpicking them. Over the years people have told me “oh you’ve gained some weight” or “your butt has gotten a lot bigger”. That’s some hard stuff to hear and no matter what people think it affects you, and it hurts.

It’s harder said than done, I know. You have to love yourself no matter what people say, and trust me it takes a long time. You have to learn to block out all the negative, and sometimes even when you try to block it out it’ll still get to you. I want you to know that each and everyone one of you are beautiful and there’s nothing you need to change.  It’s going to take time but I promise you can do it.

Love,

KimberlyAnn

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

