My Faith

I. Am. A. Christian

When I was 5 years old I accepted Christ as my Savior. I know, some of you might say “five years old? that’s too young, you didn’t know what you were doing.” which I would respond with yes, I absolutely knew what I was doing. I knew that I believed Jesus was the Son of God and that he died for my sins. I believed that believing in Jesus was the only way to Heaven. That’s the basics ya’ll, that’s honestly all you need to believe to be a Christian, that is the only thing that all Christian denominations have in common. When I was five years old I made a conscience decision to accept all of these basic truths, no one forced me or pushed it onto me.

When I was 6 I wanted to be baptized. Now if you don’t know what being baptized is, it’s an outward expression of an inward change (that’s the short and skinny). I wanted to show everyone that I loved Jesus and that I wanted to change and be the best Christian I can be. I know, I know, I don’t have this amazing testimony going from rags to riches in Christ however, I believe that my story is just as important as anyone else’s.

At 11 years old I went through a horrible church spilt. I became very hardened by this because it showed me how horrible and cruel so called “Christians” could be. At 12-13 I had another horrible church experience, which I won’t go into that here but let’s just say I was very hurt personally by people who were suppose to “care” about me. I became very angry and HATED going to church. I didn’t want to be there and I didn’t want anything to do with “church people”. When I met Corey he started asking me to go to church and youth group with him. At youth group I met one of the most important people in my life, Courtney. Courtney was one of the youth pastors and she was always there for me. She embodied what everyone always claimed to be as a “church person”. She showed me that people do care.

Slowly but surely I grew more and more in my faith. Now as an adult I can honestly say my relationship with God is much better than I think it’s every been. Don’t get me wrong it could always be better and we could always improve in our Christian walk with God, but I am very happy with where I am. I am very proud to be a Christian and that is my story.

I am Kimberly Anderson and I am a Christian.

Love,

KimberlyAnn

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

